Why I Cancelled NJPWWorld
What a difference two months makes. If this was a video it’d cut back to all the positive things I said to fade into me looking as the ground sad from my desk chair doing one of those YouTube thumbnail faces. Man for New Japan Pro Wrestling my smile and my optimism are gone, killed at the hands of the man they call Gedo. But before the negatives let’s look at where we were. January 4th 2026 was a massive success. Not just for TV viewership but for fan perception. Combined with the return of the IWGP Heavyweight Title and set philosophy for that and the Global Title it really felt like New Japan was back. Sure they would have issues retaining talent as they always do with Japan’s economy being a shitshow but they had a definitive draw again in Aaron Wolf. However, what we’ve seen in the last two months is a return to old form and just House of Torture run ins. I must be missing something but having your top star and draw lose to Bad Luck Fale is terrible optics. I guess we are doing a s...